Eumundi School of Arts Hall
63 Memorial Drive – Corner of Pacey Street and Memorial Drive Eumundi
PO Box 427 Eumundi Qld 4562
phone: (07) 5442 8762 (Discover Eumundi Heritage and Visitor Centre)
Eumundi School of Arts is state heritage-listed. The Eumundi and District Historical Association is Trustee for the School of Arts hall and responsible for its maintenance, development and use – for the community of Eumundi.
The first School of Arts Hall was built in 1908 and after being found to be too small for its growing uses was re-built in 1912 to house a two-storey building with a main hall and stage, downstairs library, billiard room, supper room and meeting room.
It has always been a focal point for the community and well known in its early days for balls and dances, and is now used for a wide variety of community activities.
In 1968 the hall was lowered due to termite damage to create the one story hall that it is today.
The hall has been used for debutante balls, stage shows, meetings, yoga, kung-fu, fund raising, boxing, weddings, parties, indoor bowls, dance lessons, conferences and so much more. In 1922 for example, two farmers introduced a movie projector to show films every second Saturday night and continued until 1963. The tradition of films in the hall has recently been revived with events such as the Noosa International Film Festival and Eumundi World Cinema.